Home > Uncategorized > Meteor Shower

Meteor Shower

Quoted from stardate.org:

           The next meteor shower is the Perseids on August 12. This year there’s no moonlight to interfere. The best time to watch is from 11 p.m. August 12 until dawn the next morning. The best direction to watch is wherever your sky is darkest. If you have a dark sky, you may see a meteor once a minute on average. The shower is also active for several days before and after its peak.

Unfortunately down here in the Netherlands, the clouds are hanging like they have no other place to go  so I guess I would have to count my luck tonight. I will see if I could wait and watch this beautiful event. I am kinda tired and tomorrow I have to get up early. Then again, sometimes I just lay on my bed for more than an hour, thinking about my life, before I really fall asleep. So maybe today I could use that time to watch the meteors.

“Shooting stars”, that’s how the amateur people call them, are really worth to watch. Although they come every year, rarely there are times, like today, when you can clearly see the meteors – you can even capture them with pocket cameras or taped them. These meteors can be seen much better when it’s totally dark. This time, there is no moonlight interference. 

Hmmm.. you know what I really want to do? Drive to a place where the sky is dark and not polluted by the city lights, turn on the radio or nice music, lay on top of a car hood, facing the sky and watch the meteor shower. Surely there would be plenty of food/snacks and drinks in the car  Unfortunately there is not many people I know that share the same interest as me in this case. And being in a dark place alone is just too scary. So maybe there’d be a day..  who knows

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

